Lonely Finger?!

Ok, this is probably one of the first links to the site…. www.lonelyfinger.com


I really don’t know what the point of it is!?

The flash/mpg video you can download on it was what was shown on TV.
They even send you the link to your cellphone (ZA) for you to download it… for free!?

I think it is just some lonely, sad, rich person who had the idea of creating some sort of outlet for his own ‘depression’.
I mean really, it costs a lot to advertise on TV! (a few times)

They aren’t selling anything either?!
There is no contact details (except for an email address).

Weird is all I can say…

lonelyfinger.co.za links to the same lonelyfinger too.

After talking to Jason, he pointed out that it might even be some psycho trying to get people into a cult for some “mass suicide” (yeah right, good luck finding more than a handful of equally sad people to pull the plug with ya)…
the “philosophy” part hints at it being this.
or maybe not.


I actually tried to locating the author of the site…
> I first phoned the domain name registrars (gam.co.za).
> Who then gave me the phone number of the designers/owners of the domain. Which I then searched for and found to be gloo, well 33degrees.co.za as well (merged). I phoned them, but the bosses seem to be on holiday till the 13th Jan. ’06.
> Then I will call again, and find out W.T.F.

I’ll post my findings here!


OK, the first phone call: they weren’t aware of it!? I think I’ll just wait for the registrant to come back from holiday first…


OK, just as I would have expected…
Calling them reveals NOTHING!!
They not ‘allowed to’…
So, don’t bother emailing or calling the designers… you won’t get anything out of them 🙂

He just said “wait and see, keep checking the website, it’s updated regularly”!?

As if there is going to be a product/service associated with a lonely finger soon?

So… till that time… this case remains a mystery…


OK, update time 🙂

You can email “me @ lonelyfinger . com”, and a PR (public relations) person will reply (that’s who I think it is)…

Seems his name is Stuart and is on a laptop… (Check the headers of the email you get in reply ;))

And lo and behold, the advertising agency behind this is BBDO: bbdo.co.za is empty, bbdo.com is the international companies website.
Also, BBDO did do the Virgin Atlantic advert in South Africa…. so, chances that it is for Virgin Mobile are pretty good.

As I said @ schpat‘s website:

1) The only coorporation that is launching soon that will have the funds for this is Virgin Mobile.
They are opening operations up here, using CellC’s infrastructure.

They could be then be doing this to build up hype much in the same way that CellC made those cryptic adverts about the letter “C” before their launch.




  1. k Said,

    January 20, 2006 @ 7:01 am

    any updates?

  2. JBagley Said,

    February 1, 2006 @ 3:49 pm

    For those of you interested in becoming friends with lonelyfinger, sign up here…. http://www.43things.com/things/view/497987

  3. def Said,

    February 3, 2006 @ 12:57 pm

    Yeah, it has been updated 🙂

  4. def za Said,

    February 20, 2006 @ 9:15 pm

    Well well, what do we have here….


    And I quote:

    We’d cut off a toe to give customers what they want.


    I’m guessing… their tag line is going to be “We’d cut off a finger to give customers what they want.”

    hence… the existance of lonely finger!

    They probably just used the word ‘toe’ on the site for the moment, not to raise ‘suspicion’. As if that worked 🙂

  5. Claudette Said,

    February 21, 2006 @ 3:10 pm

    Ok ok ive been on 15 sites discussing lonely finger… everyone saying its Virgin Mobile…. mmmm im confused.

    As lonely finger emails my sister and myself every day, we actually chatting, i have asked him and he just said its him hacking into SABC…


    When is Virgin launching…
    I have a friend going to start work there she also knws nothing….

    mmmm HELP!

  6. portia muravha Said,

    February 23, 2006 @ 11:35 am

    this lonelyfinder thing is just a stupid site,they want us to keep visiting their site time and time again couse they know we are curious of what the hell is that.i think we gonna get dissapointed,and find out they are advertising some stupid product,getting us all worked up for nothing.but im still visiting the site everday(curiosity)

  7. Lonely finger breaker Said,

    February 24, 2006 @ 10:12 pm

    Lonely finger has nothing to do with virgin.. There adverts should be stoped on SABC! If i see this advert again i am going to take legal steps against the SABC., the broadcasting complaints commision and the south african police service.. Lonely finger is a suicide website with only negative info.. if this is a marketing ploy then this company will not be getting my support!!!!!!!!

    Lonely Finger SUX

  8. krusty Said,

    February 26, 2006 @ 5:05 pm

    I just saw that crazy advert on TV, saw that dumb site, found your blog while googling it, and now wondering what the hang this is all about.

    defza get to the bottom of this!

  9. def za Said,

    February 26, 2006 @ 5:42 pm

    mmm… i dunno how much more to the bottom of it i can get! 😉

    It should be due anyday now for revelation!

    Hang tight!

  10. def za Said,

    March 4, 2006 @ 12:56 pm

    o my gosh…

    And so, it is revealed….

    5fm == radio station, are the fools behind it….

    “it’s better with 5”

    ai… that’s reallly sad now…

    crap music. commercial spam.